February highlights

To be honest, I accomplished about a third of the goals I set in February but surprisingly I feel like I went through more personal growth than I did in January. It’s been a tough month for me but there were definitely some great highs. Like last month though, I don’t want to bore you with the details. So, here are some of the highlights of my month of singlehood:

  • When I began looking at my schedule for the month of February, I knew I’d need some time to recharge so I ended up booking a trip to visit a friend of mine in Saint Petersburg, Florida for an extra long weekend. While I didn’t get a chance to write about the trip, it was a relaxing and invigorating time. Some of the highlights were spending the day at a farmer’s market and listening to local bands, exploring, playing giant jenga at the bar, skinny dipping, doing a little life planning (I talked TJ into moving to Belize in May!), and making new friends. Perhaps my favorite part of traveling is always the people I end up meeting – I even got a pen pal out of the trip!
  • One of the ways I wanted to challenge myself this month was to praise singlehood rather than reject it. So, I decided to make a list of all the things I love about being single. While I put this particular goal off for the end of the month (mainly because I thought it would be hard) it actually turned out to be relatively easy. I found I rather love being single and that the idea of being alone doesn’t really scare me. If anything, I’ve learned I’m more comfortable in my own skin than I thought and I find that kind of confidence sexy.
  • My effort to reach out, forgive, purge, and let go brought more heartbreak than I bargained for this month but overall I felt like I made a lot of progress in moving forward with my life. I will admit I was not 100% successful in this venture (old habits die-hard). What was particularly hard for me to accept at a time where I was trying SO hard to overcome one of my weaknesses was realizing there are instances where it’s okay to put up some walls for a bit and focus on yourself. If anything, this particular venture brought more self-awareness and personal growth than anything else and I am grateful for that.

It seems as if February has flown by and while I wish I would have had more time, I’m kind of looking forward to a new month. As you know, a new month means new goals. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment

Filed under give more love, goals, personal growth, self-awareness, singlehood

Leave a Reply

