Misadventures in the kitchen

Traveling always manages to wear me out. After spending four days in St. Pete with little to no sleep, I needed a vacation from vacation. Someone must have heard my prayers because I woke up this morning to a house with no power, 8″ of new snow on the ground, and dangling tree limbs over the hood of my car. I wasn’t going anywhere and although the power itself was only out for about three hours, my internet didn’t come back on until 4pm which meant I got to spend the majority of the day doing non-work and non-school related things. With nothing pressing on my plate, my only goal for the day was to curl up on the couch with a book, drink some hot tea, and be adventurous in the kitchen. So, that’s what I did.

I haven’t cooked since I got food poisoning a few weeks ago so the majority of my meals have been made up of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches or pre-cooked dinners I pick up at the local grocery store. Since I finally had the time and energy to cook, I wanted to take a stab at a turkey and black bean enchilada recipe I found on Skinny Taste. And since I’ve been in the mood for homemade bread, I decided to make that again.

Well, today was not the day for me to be in the kitchen because I botched both recipes.

Because of the impending snow storm, practically all the meat was gone from the grocery store. So instead of using ground turkey I opted to use ground chicken thinking the consistency would be pretty comparable. While it wasn’t bad by any means, the meat was a bit tougher and chewier than I would have liked. Overall, I really liked the meat mixture; adding diced tomatoes and black beans to the dish certainly helped the flavor but this is where I should have stopped and just made some rice.

enchiladameat

After making the meat mixture, I decided to be adventurous and make my own enchilada sauce as well. I was particularly excited to work with unfamiliar ingredients, mainly peppers I hadn’t heard of before in what they call “adobe sauce.” I will likely never use this ingredient again – the flavor is really overpowering and I only used a tablespoon. In fact, the sauce ended up tasting like watered down barbecue sauce (and I really don’t like barbecue sauce). Combining it with the enchiladas overall ruined the dish for me, but I’m eating it anyways because I’m poor. While the dish is tolerable, it’s just not that great. It looks pretty though!

enchiladas

As an avid fan of starches and grain, I also decided to bake some bread. Here, I also tried a new recipe and three hours later you can see where it got me. Nowhere. I was more bummed about the bread than the enchiladas.

botchedbread

Considering my misadventures in the kitchen, I still had fun. Plus, I got to snuggle with this cute thing all day so she makes it all worthwhile.

mibear

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking

Leave a Reply

