Friend family dinner party

This weekend I hosted the first potluck dinner of the year. Since I wanted to make a simple and palette friendly menu for a few of my friends who are picky eaters (ahem, Andrew) I went for an Italian-themed meal. You would think I’d be tired of eating pasta after a week of eating left over chicken tetrazzini, but nope – I love me some carbs! And because I’m one of those people who tell other people what to bring to the potluck dinner (I’m thankful my friends understand my somewhat anal and controlling tendencies, haha!) I crafted the following menu which turned out super yummy: a bruschetta appetizer, an Italian ribbon zucchini salad, lasagna, garlic bread, and tiramisu. Since Monica had asked to make the main dish, I ended up making the bruschetta. I can’t recall ever having actually eaten bruschetta before so I was excited to try something new in the kitchen. Turns out it’s  simple to make and is actually pretty healthy for you too.

I used a combination of recipes for the bruschetta but essentially diced up a bunch of Roma tomatoes into small bits and pieces then added in sautéed onion, garlic, salt, and pepper. For a flavor booster I added in a few tablespoons of olive oil, basil leaves, fresh lemon juice, and lemon zest then put it in the refrigerator for an hour to cool down. For the bread, I picked up a whole wheat baguette already sliced at the grocery store, brushed each piece with some olive oil, and put it all in the broiler till it was nice and toasty. Add a heaping spoonful of bruschetta on top of the baguette slice and you’re set, although you keep coming back for more because it’s hard to eat just one. A super yummy snack and it’s healthy for you. Really, what more could you ask for?!

Bruschetta

After dinner we pulled out the games. We made our way through Would You Rather?, Taboo, and Scattegories (I hate that game mainly because I am not good at it – at all). My favorite part of the night was when we ditched the rules of the Would You Rather? game and started performing only Do-It Challenge cards. Basically, you’re given an outlandish action to perform for 90 seconds like make out with a window, drink from a bowl like a cat, or let people draw a mustache on your face which you keep for the rest of the night (kudos to Liz for being a sport on that one!). It sparked a lot of laughter and giggling, which I love. Here’s my lovely group of friends that ventured out for the night, which also serves as my photo for week 2 of the 52 week photo challenge (from left to right: Andrew, Me, Liz, Monica, David).

Group

Oh, and Liz’s ‘stache for the night. I giggled so much over this photo – she looks very pensive.

Lizstache

All-in-all, I’d call our Italian themed potluck dinner and game night a success. I always love bringing all of my friends together and having them in the same room with me. I never want this friend family of mine to leave my side; they really do add so much joy to my life!

3 Comments

Filed under cooking, friends, give more love, happiness

3 responses to “Friend family dinner party

  1. I loved reading about your zest for life and hearing about your youthful playfulness. They are a vibrant mixture………. Avoid growing old at all costs.

  2. Pingback: Salad master « Life After School

  3. Dina Schultz

    Love this!!!

Leave a Reply

