A crafty christmas

Now that Christmas is over and the recipients have received their gifts, I can finally blog about my two crafting ventures over the past month!

Because I’m poor, Christmas is always hard to do exactly what I want for everyone which means I have to get pretty creative. This year, I wanted to go the sentimental route in gift giving and since part of my December goals is about trying new adventures, I decided to craft them. When Liz blogged about this as a gift for her parent’s anniversary, I knew I wanted to try something similar – it’s just too dang cute!

It was a bit of a struggle to find the size of frame I wanted, but I made do with a 3-piece frame I found at Hobby Lobby. I got particularly frustrated once I took apart the frame though. What I thought was a sticker on the outside was actually an imprint of a stamp on the inside. Thanks to google search, I found the right combination of windex and rubbing alcohol that made the imprint come off pretty easily on all but one of the frames I used. Since I didn’t want to invest in an atlas and preferably wanted street names and location holders, I decided to use google maps which worked perfectly. I printed the street maps in color, cut them into heart-shapes, pasted them onto card stock and then taped them to a white back splash of paper I inserted into the frame. For the lettering, I just used some basic thicker scrapbooking letters and did variations of the places where people met, went on their first date, got married, or where their first baby was born. When I finished the first one, I was so ecstatic for how well it turned out that I couldn’t wait to start the next one!

jj

And that wasn’t it. When I spotted this date night jar on pinterest a few weeks ago, I cooed to Liz about how I wished I was dating someone just so I could make one. I think it’s a great idea for people who have babies, especially in keeping the romance alive and making time for each other. So when I started crafting Christmas presents, I thought it would be a cute gift for my parents and brother/sister-in-law.

The craft itself is really simple. I purchased a couple mason jars and some colored popsicle sticks at Hobby Lobby. On each of the popsicle sticks I wrote down a date night idea and plopped it in the jar. I put enough popsicle sticks in the jar that ensured at least two date nights a month, ranging from going out on the town to simple stay at home dates. I tried to tailor each jar specific to the couple so that it was comprised of dates each of them would be interested in, but I also threw a couple in there to make them get outside their comfort zone and in touch with their youth a bit. For the outside of the jar, I just used the left over thicker scrapbooking letters I had on hand. Here’s a few of the date ideas I put together and the culmination of the final product. I love it!

sticks

jar

Considering I’m not a crafty person, I’d call it a Christmas success!

1 Comment

Filed under crafting, creativity

One response to “A crafty christmas

  1. Pingback: Sharing love « Life After School

Leave a Reply

