My quarter life crisis

People laugh at me when I tell them I’m approaching my quarter-life crisis but I am dead serious. Even though I’m six months early in the freak out department, I can’t help but have these feelings of anxiety and uncertainty about what my future holds. My life feels pretty routine and monotonous, something I never thought it would be at this age. Not that my life is horrible – I love coming home to my cute little bungalow and happy-go-lucky dog but naturally its sparked a lot of self introspection. Luckily, I have the good fortune to be able to mull it over with a few like-minded and inspirational people.

I had brunch on Sunday with a friend and when I was talking about my relentless fear of being “stuck” way before I’m ready to be, he mentioned something that really struck a chord with me. That your 20s are about exploration and that exploration doesn’t always mean jumping on a plane and jet-setting across the world. You have this constant hunger and thirst for more – more knowledge, more love, more self-awareness and understanding. You just want more. The more you do (not just think about doing), the more you’re going to grow as a person. And I really took that to heart.

One of the things I want to do to celebrate hitting the milestone 25 is to do something meaningful and which gives me the opportunity to grow. Recently I’ve become interested in organic and sustainable farming but I know absolutely nothing about it. The friend I had brunch with told me about an organization called WWOOF – World Wide Opportunities for Organic Farming – where you get the opportunity to mix travel with volunteer experience. Essentially, you exchange a little bit of hard work for some local knowledge and free room and board. After researching it, it’s definitely something I’ve added to my bucket list.

While I’m still trying to pinpoint details, my official plans for the 25th birthday is a two-week backpacking trip to where else but Central America! One week will be spent volunteering on an organic farm and the other will be spent immersed in the culture, exploring the sites. My cousin Jenna is actually WWOOFing it up in Guatemala as I’m writing this so I’m dying to hear back from her once she is stateside.

I’m so excited not only because this trip gives me something to look forward to, but it also inspires me to continue finding ways to grow and expand here in Columbia. I actually blogged at the beginning of 2012 that my word for the year was “stuck”. Well, for 2013 my new word is expand. Time’s a wasting people!

1 Comment

Filed under new adventures, personal growth, quarter-life crisis, self-awareness, self-introspection

One response to “My quarter life crisis

  1. Pingback: Gearing up for December « Life After School

Leave a Reply

