It’s race day!

Today was race day for the Heart of Missouri Girls on the Run program. I had a blast running in my first 5k race and even though I’m slow, I’m happy to report I didn’t finish dead last! I ran 3.2 miles in 32:51 and placed 15th, so not too shabby!

This whole experience has been really humbling. I feel incredibly accomplished and proud of myself for reaching the fitness milestones I set a few months back. Setting a goal and working towards accomplishing it, all without skipping a day or cheating on run times, is something to be proud of. What makes the day even sweeter is I also reached my prime goal weight. About five months ago I joined Weight Watchers with the intention of improving my overall health and changing my eating habits. Since that time, I’ve lost 15 pounds and I did it all the healthy way! I’ve reached an overall lifestyle change and I give myself a pat on the back for taking the time to care for myself in both mind and body. What better way is there to love yourself than that!?

I’ve learned two valuable lessons through this experience as well. I now think about my body in terms of what it can do instead of how it looks. Accomplishing my 5k, reaching my weekly goal weights – they helped to foster confidence in my body and improve my overall self-image. Not that I had a horrible self-image beforehand but I did have stomach/digestive issues and now I’ve resolved them by changing my eating habits and exercising. Which leads me to the second valuable lesson: taking care of myself is my responsibility. No one else can do it for me. If I want to prevent any health complications in the future – diabetes, heart issues – and be a role model for my future children, then that’s on me. If you want to change, you have to work at it! Accountability is key in meeting fitness/weight loss goals and sticking to your plan is on you, not the people around you.

Perhaps the most rewarding aspect of meeting my fitness and weight loss goals is getting to share them with family and friends and seeing it inspire them to set and meet their own goals. I love being a source of inspiration for others and if you’re one of those I’ve chatted with recently, you know I’ll be in your corner cheering you on!

Leave a comment

Filed under body, community, exercise, goals, health, personal growth

Leave a Reply

