Quiet but productive

Today was a mostly noisy day. I came home from work with one of the worst headaches I’ve had in a while. Any small noise was making me cringe. While all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch and read when I got home, I challenged myself to get up and moving. I’d been sitting all day and with the migraine I had brewing, I really didn’t want to end up in a melancholy mood just sitting around the house doing nothing. So, I decided to make tonight a quiet but productive one.

Since I’m the only one in the house I normally keep the TV on in the background on low. Sometimes just the drown of the TV makes me feel less alone but the first thing I did when I walked through the door was turn that sucker off. I hadn’t taken Miley to exercise since Sunday so I knew I needed to get her out of the house to run her energy off. I marked the dog park off the list more so because since I’m a regular there, all the other regulars want to chat and catch up on life. However, there is a two-mile trail that starts at the dog park and goes back through the woods along a creek. We walked the entire two-mile trail just as the night was starting to cool off. The water flowing down the creek bed and the bugs humming and chirping immediately released some of the tension in my body. I instantly felt more at ease; the woods are my sanctuary. My headache started to ease up and by the time we made it back to the parking lot, it was gone.

I felt so rejuvenated after our little hike that I ventured outside for a quick run around the neighborhood. I’ve been slacking on training for my 5k mostly because (let’s be honest here) I’ve lacked the motivation to do so. When I get home from work it’s the last thing I even want to do plus the heat is a good deterrent (read: excuse) too. Tonight was cooler though and with a slight breeze it really didn’t feel too bad. I’ve decided to try getting up 20 minutes earlier in the morning on my three run days during the week. It’ll be cooler and I think it will make me feel less guilty not having taken Miley to the dog park in the afternoon. She isn’t a great running partner but I need to start taking the time to train her a little more (another thing on the to-do list). You never know, maybe her little attitude will simmer down a bit although I won’t count on it.

I spent the rest of the evening working on some smaller projects around the home. Next on my long to-do list for a minimalist home was cleaning out my bathroom. The great thing about this room is that I don’t have to really sort anything. I could absolutely start from scratch since it is such a small area. It took me all of 30 minutes and I purged an entire trash bag of bathroom items. While in other areas of the home I’ve had to sort items into trash, treasure, transfer piles and then put stuff away I really only had to use one rule for this room. If you use it, keep it; if you don’t get rid of it. Unlike the doom of tackling my basement, I felt the bathroom was much more manageable. If I can keep getting the small stuff done around the house I think it will eventually make me ready to tackle the bigger projects. At least we hope.

After a hearty meal I feel tired and a little bit sore but my headache is gone, it’s finally raining here (yeah!), and I feel much more at peace. Time to curl up with a good book, some hot tea, and my cuddly dog. A quiet night is the perfect end to a noisy day.

Leave a comment

Filed under exercise, home, organization, solitude, spirituality

Leave a Reply

