Everything in it’s place

Every day this week, I’ve woken up feeling more energized than normal. My most productive hours of the day seem to be in the wee hours of the morning when most sane people are still sleeping. But – I’ve crossed a lot of to-do items off my list both at work and at home and I’ve tackled some minimalist living, de-cluttering at home. All of my accomplishments this week have left me feeling more productive and efficient and it definitely has added a lot to my overall happiness.

One of my major feats this week was tackling my home office space. Truth be told, it’s actually never been functional as a home office space since I’ve moved in. It’s more of a storage space for over three years of bills, tax receipts, old computer equipment, dog and cat medicine, non-functional smoke alarms, and the likes. I’ve been putting off tackling this space for a while because the amount of junk I would have to sift through just seemed overwhelming and time-consuming. But I knew I needed to keep the bigger picture in mind. I wanted a home office space where I could work from home if I needed, blog, and check e-mail. And, most importantly, since I start grad school in just a few weeks, I needed a place that isn’t my couch or bed to write papers, study, and finish projects. Basically, I wanted a sanctuary that inspired productivity and which was free of any distractions. I needed a place where “shit gets done.”

The process itself was actually cathartic. Since clutter absolutely drives me nuts it felt good to throw out mountains of junk mail, papers, outdated phone books and calendars, and old bills. Surprisingly, I didn’t feel as anxious as I thought I would purging practically everything I’d been hoarding. In fact, once I was on a roll, I purged  like it was nobody’s business. Using my minimalist living guidebook The Joy of Less, in just under two hours everything was in its place and my home office space was fully functional. I finally got around to hooking up my new printer/fax/copy machine which I’ve been sitting on for over a year now. Only office-related supplies sit on top of my desk within easy reach and everything else worth treasuring is filed neatly away in a file box. I’m pretty proud – it really does look great. I wish I had a before and after picture to convey how amazing it looks now. But you know me – not an avid picture taker so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

I was asked last night what adds to my happiness and I answered with my usual responses of coffee, Miley, family, and friends. Now that I’m on a roll again, though, paring down and tackling clutter is certainly one of those things. Less stuff and a tidy, functional desk space = joy. I am such a nerd, I know.

2 Comments

Filed under books, home, organization

2 responses to “Everything in it’s place

  1. Dina

    Whoa, I need to see your new office.

  2. Pingback: A little at a time « Life After School

Leave a Reply

