A week of firsts

When I was younger, I used to believe that for someone to be adventurous they had to be into extreme sports like bungee jumping or sky diving or be willing to sell all their belongings and go backpacking around the world. As I’ve grown up, I’ve realized being adventurous is more about your willingness to try new and unfamiliar things and just getting outside your comfort zone. It’s been a week of adventurous firsts for me but they’ve all been enlightening experiences. I thought I would share a few of them!

I debated even blogging about this particular experience but I don’t think there’s any reason to feel embarrassed or ashamed and like Liz says, “You do you, booboo!”  So, I went on my first blind date this week and much to my surprise, I actually had a great time! I’ve heard so many horror stories about first dates from online dating sites or set ups by friends so when I said yes to this particular meetup, my expectations weren’t high. I’m glad I branched out though because it was so much fun! I sort of look at the experience as a way to meet new people and in the end, I could even form some strong friendships. If anything happens beyond that, well that’d be cool too. I love love!

Another first for me was joining a Meetup group. I first heard about Meetup.com when I was living in San Francisco in 2009. It’s an online social organizing website where you can create meetup groups based on local community interests. For anyone who is looking to enrich their lives and make new friends with similar interests, it’s a great resource to get you out of your bubble and in a social setting. You can RSVP to any meetup event whether it be a happy hour, a book club, or a walking/hiking group. I recently joined Meetup for the Columbia area and did my first event this week. It was a happy hour with seven girls at a local bar and grill in town. The experience was interesting and different from what I expected. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. Most of the girls were in their 20s and early 30s so it was pretty easy to relate to and talk to them. There were, of course, a few quirky individuals but I say life would be less entertaining without them at the table. It seems as if stepping outside my comfort level is boosting my confidence level. It’s also forcing me to not be shy in group settings which I’m sometimes guilty of. It was a worthwhile experience and I imagine it’s something I’ll try again.

My most exciting adventurous first this week is teaming up with Liz to start a monthly book club. We decided to not stick to a certain theme or genre of book, but rather have each reader take turns selecting a book for the month and leading the discussion. While we both choose books that are part self-help, part memoir, and part inspiration/self-reflection, we want to have other perspectives and likes around the table which means stepping outside our comfort zone and reading books we may not otherwise read. Our first book choice is The Heart and the Fist by Eric Greitens which does fit within our normal book genre but hey, we get to lead first. If you’re interested in participating, email me or drop a comment here. Our first book club meeting will be July 29 at 9am over breakfast and coffee at Ernie’s Cafe in The District. Buy the book and join us – we’d love to have you!

1 Comment

Filed under books, friends, new adventures, relationships

One response to “A week of firsts

  1. Dina Schultz

    I am happy that you’re trying new and different things. There’s always a first time for everything! You are definitely having a much better time this year than last year at this time. Love, Momma

Leave a Reply

