The vacation begins

Saturday morning marked the beginning of my week-long vacation at Blue Jay Farms. I’ve only been here a little over 24 hours and for the first time in awhile, I actually feel like I had a full weekend. I didn’t spend it running errands or checking things off my to-do list. I just relaxed. And it feels so good. More so, it feels great knowing I have no obligations or worries for another seven days. I’m beyond thankful for booking this trip. It’s making me more zen-like in mind, body, and spirit already.

As my Father’s Day gift to my Dad, I invited him and my Mom down to the cabin for the weekend. Like me, Dad has really needed to get away and take his mind off some things so I thought this trip was a perfect avenue for him to do that. We spent Saturday canoeing, chatting, swimming, playing with Miley, and grilling a gigantic steak dinner. Sunday morning, I fixed a big breakfast for the family including pancakes, eggs, bacon, and fruit. Before they left for other Father’s Day festivities at home, we went for a walk around the lake and had a very intense game of ping pong between Dad, me, and Miley (ball catcher). I was sad to see them leave this afternoon, but I’m also looking forward to enjoying the quiet and finding some peace of mind.

I did not get pictures of our adventures this weekend (I’m really horrible at this whole capture memories thing), but here are a few I did manage to take.

Cowboy steaks – oh so yummy!

My view lying on the dock for the next week.

I spent 20 minutes attempting to get Miley in a picture with me. She’s too preoccupied with the fish so you just get me!

1 Comment

Filed under family, solitude, travel

One response to “The vacation begins

  1. Dina

    Lindsay,

    We sooo enjoyed our visit to Blue Jay Farms. We thank you for the peace and quiet. Daddy needed this sooo much. Enjoy yourself. Hopefully Miley isn’t still fishing. She defintely works hard at it. Luv ya, momma

Leave a Reply

