Matchmaker, matchmaker

My first weekend exploring Columbia was pretty fun. Saturday night, I went to the Maplewood Barn Theatre to see Fiddler on the Roof.  I really enjoyed being able to stake out a spot on the grassy hill, sprawl out on a blanket and enjoy the show. If I had known in advance you could bring your own food and drinks, I would have packed a picnic basket and a bottle of wine. The setting really is gorgeous and the weather was perfect. I was worried it would be super hot considering the humidity earlier in the day, but it turned out to be pretty nice. And…I think it makes for a fabulous date. I’ll have to keep that in mind for their next play at the end of June, How the Other Half Loves.

I really enjoyed the play itself. The acting was good, humorous and well done. I won’t type out the plot here, but if you’re interested in the back story check out this link. By the end of the play, I was really glad modern day society isn’t so much into arranged marriages and is more about the freedom to pledge your own love to whomever you choose. It’s crazy to think this used to be some outrageous, radical thought. The matchmaker song has been stuck in my head all day. I rather like it and it goes a little something like this:

“Matchmaker, Matchmaker,
Plan me no plans
I’m in no rush
Maybe I’ve learned
Playing with matches
A girl can get burned
So,
Bring me no ring
Groom me no groom
Find me no find
Catch me no catch
Unless he’s a matchless match.”

Among other things, weekend festivities also included a jaunt to the North Village District Farmer’s Market. I took Miley. We walked there. Everyone loved her. It was hot. I bought brats and fresh veggies. We walked back home. I chased Miley for an hour with the hose – it’s pretty comical the way she attacks the water. I got some sun. I read a really steamy book. It made me dream of one day finding someone that loves me like Christian Grey loves Anastasia Steele. Overall, it was a good weekend and I really rather think Columbia is pretty cool.

3 Comments

Filed under new adventures, quotes

3 responses to “Matchmaker, matchmaker

  1. Kristin Brotherton

    Knew you would love Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele. I love love love those books!!! Glad your enjoying your summer sounds like so much fun and relaxing!!

  2. They certainly are addicting reads! I just finished the second book and am starting the third. Summer is good so far. Hope you’re having fun too – hopefully I can come visit you soon.

  3. Dina

    Well written as usual. Matchmaker mommas do not work either. When you least expect it, Mr. Grey will come along and spin you around. How about meeting some nice young men at the young professionals get togethers. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

