Summer reading

Ahhh!! Summer is here and it looks like it’s going to be a good one. My favorite part of summer is that between all of the endless amounts of pool and outdoor fun, you have ample opportunity to get lost in a book. Sure, you can do this year-round but something about curling up at home reading a book doesn’t have quite the same lure. My attention span for reading at home is almost non-existent. I always end up thinking of all the others things I should be doing around the house. And maybe I don’t do any of those things I think I should be doing, but I also don’t end up reading either. So then comes summer, and in three months I will have read 30-40 books. This summer is no different!

I’m two books in already having just finished The Tiger’s Wife and James Patterson’s Kill Alex Cross. Since my vacation is just two weeks away (and my pool weekend just one day away), I’ve had the urge to start buying books in bulk. I’m having trouble making a list of books that reach 30-40 in numbers, but here is my itty-bitty list so far:

1. On the road by Jack Kerouac. This is suppposed to be the number one all time travel adventure book out there and it’s at the top of my list of books to read. I’m thinking it could be dangerous given my thoughts of wanderlust lately.

2. Search Inside Yourself by Chade Meng-Tan. Chade was a pioneer/engineer of Google in it’s early stages and one of his side projects was to create an opt-in class for employees to attend called Search Inside Yourself. The caption that got my attention and added this book to my must-read list, “This is your guide to enhancing productivity and creativity, finding meaning and fulfillment in your work and life, and experiencing profound peace, compassion, and happiness while doing so.” Yes, please.

3. Bossy Pants by Tina Fey. I picked this book up at Barnes & Noble just to read the first couple of pages. I read the entire first chapter and it literally made me laugh out loud. And that’s how this made it to the must-read. Who doesn’t love a little bit of laughter?

4. Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James. This book is a major hype right now but I hear it’s all horrible sex prose, no real literary substance. That’s okay. Who doesn’t enjoy a steamy read? I know I do! I mean my favorite author is Nora Roberts. That should be enough to tell you right there.

5. No Place Like Home by Brooke Berman. Another travel book, but what really drew me in was this, “…she learns more about how to heal the past, let go of excess, and keep a sense of humor while trying to stay flexible in the search for stability.” Sounds like something I can relate to and I’m looking forward to this read.

So, you can see my list is very short. 5 books and it took me a whole day to make. I think I’m kind of picky for whatever reason this summer, but I’m really looking for some suggestions…and quick! I’ve got to put in my Amazon order by next week. So what are some books you recommend reading?

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

