A rustic vacation

I’ve been going on vacation alone for many years. For me, it’s not that strange. I love to explore and I enjoy the freedom and solitude that comes along with it. I always meet new people and it actually forces me to get out of my comfort zone. Some of my fondest travel memories are “going it alone” and meeting like-minded, adventurous people along the way.

The last big vacation I went on was in 2011 – I spent two weeks backpacking through Belize and Guatemala. I was hoping to set out on my next big adventure abroad this summer by backpacking through the Caribbean for a few weeks, but unfortunately my budget (and plans) fell through. But no worries, it all worked out in the end.

Yesterday, I booked a week-long cabin stay at a hidden gem in the heart of the Ozarks: Blue Jay Farms. I spent quite a few weekends here last summer and although I used to “share” this place with an old boyfriend, it still holds a special place in my heart for all the good memories made here. The cabin is situated on a private, spring-fed lake – there are no tvs, no internet, and horrible cell phone reception. It’s absolutely perfect. And for only being two hours away from home, you actually feel like you get away. The farm is pet-friendly so it makes it even sweeter to be able to bring Miley with me (saves me $200 in boarding fees alone).

My plans for my week of vacation are to take care of myself and just enjoy being outside. I’ll be hiking, fishing, kayaking, swimming, laying out, grilling, drinking beer, and reading good books. This is exactly what I need and its only three weeks away.  As a Father’s Day present to my Dad, I’ll be taking him and my Mom there for two of the seven days I’ll be there. So, not only do I get a little bit of me time, I also get to enjoy some quality family time too. Already counting down the days!

Here are some pictures from last summer, including the cabin I’ll be staying in. When going through my photo album I realized almost all of my pictures are of Miley playing rather than the scenery – so sorry for the lack of greenery. I’ll aim to get better ones this year.

3 Comments

Filed under solitude, travel

3 responses to “A rustic vacation

  1. Joanne

    Now that’s a vacation!!!!

  2. Dina Schultz

    Oh my goodness. Miley looks like a baby puppy. Daddy and I cannot wait to stay there with you. We will have fun.

  3. I know – I can’t believe how much my little girl has grown! I’m excited too and happy you guys can make it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

