DIY love

After a weekends worth of work, I can finally say my guest room is complete (sans home accent furnishings). Yeah!! Last night, my Dad came over to help me hang the headboard. I was also able to talk him into staying a little bit longer to install curtain rods and replace my outlet sockets (thank you again by the way). After three hours of work, we got it all sorted out and I’ve spent tonight putting together the bedding, rug, curtains, etc.

Out of this whole process, hanging the headboard had to be the most challenging and frustrating part. It took drilling over 11 holes in my wall to finally find a stud we could hook the screws in the back of the headboard to. Unfortunately, I’ve discovered (not just in this room) that in my house, a stud finder lighting up doesn’t really mean there’s an actual stud in the wall. We finally got a groove though and a combination of using a stud finder and knocking on the wall to look for hollow spots finally allowed us to find the right place to screw in the hangers. I know I couldn’t have done any of this without the help of my brother Austin and my Dad, but I had a feeling of such accomplishment when it was finally on the wall. It was a moment of giddiness – I love those types of moments.

While I was finishing up the room, I started thinking about how much effort and work were put into making this room over. For being on such a tight budget, it’s hard to renovate your home the way you want and finding ways to do home improvement projects within those budget constraints sometimes make you think the amount of effort and work you have to put forth isn’t worth it. Well, I can tell you that I am extremely happy I decided to go with the flow. My budget was $200. My final breakdown of costs to re-do this room are:

  • Headboard: $7 (free wood, free labor, only paid for the yellow spray paint)
  • Curtains: $16 (4 curtains at $4 a piece)
  • Curtain Rods: $40 (2)
  • Paint: $38
  • Supplies: $0 (all donated)
  • Rug: $40
  • Pillows: $20 (on sale)

Total cost: $161…almost $40 under budget!

Not only am I happy that I was able to save a little bit of money, but I am so proud of how well the room turned out. Less really is more in this uniquely laid out room. It used to be jam packed with all of Miley’s things, extra blankets, a dresser, an 8×10 rug and a bed. It was just too much. I prefer this feel and layout much more. It’s warm and inviting and at the end of the day – I kind of wish it was my room! It’s a room sans home accent furnishings (wall art, etc.) but that will come with time. For now, here is the final product!

  

3 Comments

Filed under crafting, DIY, home

3 responses to “DIY love

  1. Dina Schultz

    Love this room. Beautiful!

  2. Vincent Dinning

    Curtain rods that are made from stainless steel are still the best because they last for a long time. ‘`”.;

    Warm regards
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/evening-primrose-oil-benefits/

  3. Pingback: A space for me |

Leave a Reply

