Training for a 10k

After not-so-much thought, I’ve decided to train for a 10k (6.2 miles). A few friends of mine have been training for a half marathon over the past couple of weeks and their dedication has inspired me to do something about the lethargy I’ve been feeling lately. While I don’t think I can mentally or physically tackle a half marathon right off the bat, I think training for a 10k is a small step to ultimately accomplishing that goal.

I found a pretty simple 8-week training schedule that I’ve decided to follow. I modified it a bit since I’m not quite able to run 2 miles straight without stopping (don’t judge all you in-shape people!). I’ve decided to repeat week 1 to get my body used to running that much again. So, ultimately, I’m turning it into a 9-week training schedule. I only run three times a week with one day being considered my “long” run where I run a half mile more than I normally do on the other two days. The other four days are either rest or cross-training days. I’ll probably only do one or two cross training days where I do a quick jaunt on the bicycle or eliptical machine. I’m also playing sand volleyball once a week so I think that sort of counts as a day of cross training too. I’m all about the justifications here.

One of the coolest things I’ve found is an app for my iPhone called MapMyRun. You can insert the address of anywhere you’re at and plot out the distance you want to run and it brings you back to your starting point. It works perfectly for figuring out where I need to run around my neighborhood but I like that I can use it when I’m traveling for work too. Although I have a gym membership and most hotels I stay at have a fitness center, I hate being in them. This is perfect for me! Another super nifty thing about MapMyRun is that you can use it for a variety of other exercises too – bicycling, trail running, walking, etc. It’s pretty sweet and I actually feel like a techy when it comes to operating my phone for once!

I started training tonight and got 1.5 miles in. It wasn’t so bad, I had to walk maybe a half mile at the most, but it was also not on flat ground. I never realized how hilly my neighborhood is! What I’m most proud of, though, is that I ran without music or any head phones. It was just me, the road, and my own thoughts. I found myself saying, “You can do it, just a little bit farther” every 5 seconds though. I don’t think I actually thought about anything else, haha.

I am excited to also announce that my friend Joanna has decided to train with me. After I finish my first two weeks, we’ll start running together. At that point, I’ll be at where she already is. We should be ready to run a 10k by end of June or beginning of July. It sucks that it’s in the dead of the summer/humidity but oh well. We haven’t picked an official race to participate in yet. The earliest one I know of in Columbia is the Roots n Blues 10k, but that’s too far away. I’m not opposed to traveling to the lake or even Kansas City/St. Louis to do one, so I’ll have to do a little research. I’ll keep you all apprised of what we decide on though! And if anyone wants to join in, please do so! Having training buddies (even if it’s just calling to say yeah I ran today and it sucked) helps you to be accountable. I imagine I’ll need the support and would love to support you back!

Leave a comment

Filed under body, exercise, goals, health

Leave a Reply

