Cooking – a way of life

Since my last post, I’ve been contemplating ways I can carve out time for myself and learn to appreciate who I am. Spending time connecting with others has been a positive start – I’ve been surrounding myself with people I care about and who care about me. Being with them in and of itself makes me feel good, period. They support me, I support them, and there is an equal partnership in each relationship I have. When I use that as a basis, I know I need to start doing things that make me feel better about myself beyond just surrounding myself with people I love. One of the things I know would make me feel better about myself is making sure that I’m living a healthy lifestyle – eating right and exercising daily.

I think it’s fair to say that everyone, at some point in their life, compares themselves to how they used to be. I am no different. In college, I was fit and a mere 122 pounds. I’m not overweight by any means now but I certainly don’t have muscle tone anymore and I finally gained the “Freshman 15” five years after the fact. It would be no surprise that that all happened because I cold-quit exercising and started eating unhealthy. Bad, Lindsay!

Partly inspired by Liz’s blog, I’ve decided to whip myself into shape, focus on my culinary skills and try some new healthy recipes. This cooking inspiration also comes at the perfect time when I’m getting over the creepin’ crud for the third time this season. Maybe my food intake has something to do with why I’ve felt so bad lately? It makes sense that if I eat bad then I’d feel bad. Moving onwards, my first two healthy recipes to try this week are pesto chicken salad sandwiches and black-and-white summer bean salad. I’ll be sure to share the recipes, because the pictures look fabulous!

On a side note, I feel like I should add this to my ever-growing list of values and goals: live a healthy life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

