Playing at words

My first week into my March goals and I feel like I am making a lot of progress. So far, I’ve selected the four individuals in my life that I will be writing letters to; I’ve made a couple-word contact with the friend I’m mad at (I was even nice too), and; I’ve met two new people in the last week that I really feel like there’s potential for a strong, meaningful friendship to develop. I’m really excited to go through this period of growth and reflection in looking at strengenthing the relationships I currently have and hope to make. Now, it’s time to get down to the nitty gritty and start writing my letters.

It was pretty easy to pick the first person I would be writing a letter to. I won’t mention names of anyone I selected because I want it to be a surprise for the person who receives it. Although it was relatively easy to pick the first person, it’s been somewhat harder to figure out exactly what I want to say to them. I’ve been thinking about it a lot this week actually. I mean, I don’t even know where to really start or what things I want to talk about. I also keep asking myself once I send the letter, then what? What happens next? How is it going to strengthen the relationship I have with them? I’m kind of psyching myself out so first things first. Let’s write the letter and worry about the rest later.

Since I’ve had trouble figuring out where to exactly start I’ve been reading some suggestions from other writers and blogposters about things you can do to get your creative writing juices flowing. I found a game that someone suggested and I plan to work on it over the weekend – maybe I’ll even get a few friends to join in!

Here’s what you’re supposed to do: write down six words on a piece of paper, throw them in a bucket, pull one out and write a random phrase about it. Throw the phrase into the bucket, write six more words down, and repeat the process. Once you’ve done this for a few rounds, you pull the phrases out and put them together in no particular order. Here develops a random storyline. Sometimes, it will make absolutely no sense but then other times (so they say) something beautiful comes out of it and it gets your mind going in a direction that you hadn’t thought about previously. I really liked this idea not only because it was fresh and something new to try, but also because I liked what the writer had to say. He said, “Be playful, let your minder wander, and accept the possibilities of randomness. You may open the door to some untapped creativity or direction.” Sounds good to me so I think I’ll give it a go for playing at words.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Playing at words

  1. Kristin Brotherton

    Lindsay Binzy, Love reading your post on here. I try to check it everyday. Actually you make me think about alot of things with your braininess 🙂 Glad your making new friends and trying to deepen your relationships. Love ya and take care and come visit me soon. Love ya Bunches!!
    Kristin

  2. Hello Miss Kristin! I will come visit you soon, I have it down in the books for probably April so I will be in touch! Love you lots and I’m glad you’re keeping up with the blog. 🙂

  3. Pingback: My dog has a better life purpose than I do « gethappi

Leave a Reply

