My purpose statement

As you all know, my goal this week was to develop my purpose statement. I’ve spent the week dedicating just 20 minutes a day to writing down the things, people, and places that are most important to me. I also began writing down my personal values and goals in life. I used the activity idea provided in the article I mentioned in my last post about emotional wellness. They give you 15 questions and you write down the answers to those questions with the first things that come to mind.

Here are some of my answers, which ultimately have shaped into my values and goals:

  • What matters most to me is my connection with myself, being present in my life and feeling content.
  • What I value most is having deep, loving relationships with my family and friends; being able to connect on a deeper level.
  • I plan to be financially independent.
  • I plan to travel and experience different cultures, sharing my experiences with others.
  • I will nurture my mind, body, and spirit.
  • I will love myself so that others may love me in the same way.
  • Having a family is important to me. I desire a pure, self-less, simple kind of deep and ever-lasting love. I will not settle for anything less.
  • For every cause I believe in, I will educate, empower and call others to action.
  • I will be the person my dog thinks I am.

Of course, I wrote down a lot of other things but these are the best ones I came up with. When I started compiling all of this, my purpose statement started turning into a book. I couldn’t believe they wanted me to sum up my purpose statement in two sentences, max. I seriously thought they must be crazy to think that’s possible. The more I looked at this list, the more I realized everything I wrote down fell into one of two categories. Things I love to do and things I desired to do or be like. In this moment of clarity, I wrote down one sentence.

Here is my purpose statement:

“I will live what I love and desire.”

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My purpose statement

  1. Dina

    I love your goals and purpose statement. So cool!

Leave a Reply

