Time to regroup

I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t kept up with this whole blog-thing – or that I dropped the ball in challenging myself to enrich my life and be happier. The reason I started this blog was to hold myself accountable. For me, writing is one way to make sure I’m on the right track – that I’m working toward the right goals and learning about myself in the process. Why it’s been so hard to dedicate an hour or two a week to doing just that….I don’t know. But I think maybe it’s time for me to regroup and get back on track….seven months later! Haha – better late than never though, right?

I’ve been doing a little research and personal reflection this past weekend. I was reading an article on emotional wellness. It’s sort of like a guide on how to find balance and purpose in your life. One of their suggestions is to sit down and develop a purpose statement. I was so intrigued by this because when I first read “purpose statement” the things that came to mind were why am I here? Who am I? What is my purpose in life? These are really BIG questions and truth be told, I couldn’t answer these questions off the cuff. So I read some more and what I found out was that a purpose statement describes how you want to live your life and it changes as your goals in life change. I guess you could say it is ever evolving. I’ve never really thought of it this way – it seems less daunting defining your purpose in life knowing it’s something that can change over time. That being said, my goal for this week is to sit down and write out my values and goals in life. By the end of the week, I hope to have developed my personal statement. I’m choosing to do this because I almost feel like if I don’t then I’m cheating myself out of learning about who I am in the right way. Self-discovery is a process and instead of jumping head first into it, I want to take it slow and start at the beginning. I don’t think I have a good handle on what I want out of life right now and I ask myself how can I set out on a quest of self-discovery and happiness without understanding that first? So there you have it. Goal #1.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Time to regroup

  1. Pingback: Another month down « Life After School

Leave a Reply

