An apple a day…

The past two days of my month-long endeavor to be well have actually been spent cooped up in my house due to being “sick.” What a bummer! Luckily it is just pink eye though and I’m only confined to the home so as not to spread my disgusting eye gunki-ness to anyone else. I’ve had pink eye enough times in my life (it’s seriously become a routine infection with my damn contacts) that I diagnosed myself before even going to the doctor. Now, if only I could also prescribe myself medication that would be great. On the sunny side, though, I did get two days off work and the doc gave me free drops, which makes my cheap ass extremely happy…especially after a $50 copay. Note to self: find a primary, urgent care is expensive! Although I was a bit bummed I got sick during my be well month, the doctor did compliment me on my low resting heart rate. Mine was at 50 and the average is between 60 and 100. It is so awesome to see the payoff from the efforts I have put into working out this past month; it is truly making me healthier! Seeing this outcome gave me an added boost of energy and rejuvenation so much that I can’t wait to get back to it!

I have to admit, I am starting to become bored with hitting the gym everyday. I think I need to spruce up my routine a bit. Since the ungodly heat wave has finally passed us, I’m going to start running again. Truthfully, I can’t stand to run but I have always wanted to be able to run a 5k. I don’t necessarily want to compete in a 5k, I just want to be able to run the 3.2 miles or however much it is. Since I don’t feel comfortable running in my neighborhood alone, I’m going to hit up the track at my old high school. My little brother just started school there so I’m hoping I can con him into running with me that way I have a little motivation. For those of you who are runners – do you have any tips or good 5k plans you would recommend? I truthfully couldn’t run a mile without being ready to quit so I want something that gradually gets me to running that far. And if any of you runners out there ever want to join me, I would surely welcome you with open arms!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “An apple a day…

  1. Dina

    No advice on running. It hurts like hell.

Leave a Reply

