Challenge yourself

I don’t know what it is about not feeling well, but I feel like my irritability is at an all time high the past few days. A truth I’ve discovered – it is exhausting and mentally draining to listen to someone complain whether you are in a good mood or a bad mood. Geez, it’s exhausting and mentally draining just listening to myself complain! But here’s the key point in my discovery of this life truth: even when you’re in a good mood, it’s still exhausting. One of the benefits to my first resolution, be well, is I feel like I’m more in tune with my emotions and thought processes. Because I want to be happier I’m neurotically focused on getting rid of the negative energy in my life and doing the things that make me feel whole, complete, and at peace. Overall, I’ve been pretty successful these first few weeks and I’ve been really happy, but my mood noticeably changes after I’ve listened to someone vent (probably because it encourages me to vent right back). I wouldn’t say my good mood changes to a bad mood, but there is definitely a negativity cloud looming over my head the rest of the day. This is bad and I don’t like it. Ultimately, I feel it is counter-productive to my efforts in being well. So, I’m challenging myself this week. Any time I find myself complaining, I’m going to make a concentrated effort to bite my tongue.  I could do well to remember that my nuances in life are small and meaningless compared to the real problems others are going through. I can think of at least two people who are having a worse day than I am at any given time. It’s all about perspective. And because I’m an action step oriented person, I’m going to challenge myself to change my behavior. I don’t think this will be an easy task – I feel like complaining is engrained in our very make up – but nevertheless I’m still going to try. Anyone else want to take on the challenge? It could be interesting…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Challenge yourself

  1. i will take your challenge!! i agree that it is draining to hear someone vent! i’m so impressed with your resolution-it inspires me girly!!! love you!!!

  2. Dina

    Yes, I will take on the challenge. Enough of negativity and complainers who want to be victims. I am going to think positive and stay in a happi world, at least for a moment.

Leave a Reply

