Detox: Day 4

I think I picked the worst week ever to detox. It’s definitely been trying the past few days while I’ve been traveling for work to stick to my plan. For the most part, I’ve been able to stick to yogurt and fruit at the hotels in the morning, salads for lunch, and salmon and rice for dinner. But last night, on my way to Maryville, Liz and I stopped to eat at Perkins. Do you know what Perkins is famous for? Pie. And not just any old pie, really good pie. Two words: I cheated. But come on, you can’t go to Perkins and NOT eat the pie; you’d be crazy. Plus, as Liz told me, pie makes you happy and what is my ultimate goal but to be happier! She didn’t have to tell me twice – I ate it and you know what, eating that pie did make me happy, but only temporarily. An hour later I felt gross, sick to my stomach, and just plain lazy. I’ve come to the conclusion that my feelings of lethargy and little motivation to do anything these past couple of months stems from the food I’ve been putting into my mouth. It’s simple, actually – ingest bad foods, ingest bad energy; ingest good foods, ingest good energy.

Despite my inability to stick to my detox plan, I can say I have stuck to my goal of 30 minutes of exercise a day. I am proud of myself for this, especially for working a 13 hour day and 10 hour day in a row. Traveling really takes it out of you and by the end of the day I just want to take a quick dip in the hot tub, climb into my hotel bed, and fall asleep. Exercising is absolutely the last thing on my mind and so, even though I cheated on my detox plan, I made up for it in sticking to my work out plan (if you haven’t noticed, I am the queen of justifications). In addition to my goal of 30 minutes of exercise a day, I also decided I would attend one group fitness class a week. I attended my first group fitness class right before I started detox. It’s called TRX which is suspension training: using your own body weight to lift and tone your muscles. It’s been one week since I have attended this class and I am STILL sore. It kicked my ass and I still can’t fully extend my arms. That’s all I really have to say about that.

On a side note, my travel for work the past couple of days was due to conducting the July Unsheltered Point in Time Count as part of an initiative of the Governor’s Committee to End Homelessness to capture the picture of unsheltered homelessness in rural Missouri communities within a certain time period. Liz and I traveled through some of the most remote areas in Missouri (eg population 200) looking for people who are considered literally homeless, or basically living on the streets or in an abandoned car/building.  This is my third time doing a point in time count and to no avail, it broke my heart (like it does every single time) to see these things. Participating in these counts always puts my work into perspective and reminds me why I do what I do. Everyone deserves a home; if you’re one of those people who owns a set of house keys, consider yourself lucky. That’s the greatest gift of all and one we take for granted more often than not.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Detox: Day 4

  1. Pingback: Slowing down | Life After School

  2. Dina Schultz

    My heart goes out to those people who do not have homes. Your organization provides the right types of funding and tools to help homeless people. You should be proud of what you’re accomplishing.

Leave a Reply

