Be Well and Well Informed

I’ve decided to tackle my first resolution: be well and well informed. To me, this is the most important resolution I have on my list. I am at a point in my life where everything is good – I have a great job, great friends, great family, beautiful pup and my very own home, but at the end of my “8-5” I come home and think to myself now what? In my mundane routine, I’ve become a couch potato. I do absolutely nothing at the end of my day, yet I am tired and lethargic – mentally and physically just worn out. I don’t feel good about myself. And no wonder…I’m doing nothing. I’ve come to one simple conclusion: this has to change. I’ve also concluded things aren’t going to change on their own; I have to change them. Planning a year-long adventure to get happier is really exciting, but also really scary. I’m so motivated right now to make changes in my life, but I worry throughout the process I’m going to fail or give up or just settle right back into my old, boring routine. I think I am one step ahead of the game in that my motivation is intrinsic – I’m doing this for me and me alone – however, it is so important to me to feel good about myself before I can really follow through with this adventure. I need to be well, pure and simple. But just as importantly, I need to be well informed.

Be Well
My first goal for the next month is to be well mentally and physically. Naturally, exercising is at the top of my to-do-list. Not only is exercising good for your overall health – physically and mentally – it also makes me feel like I’m getting rid of all the negative energy in my body, sort of like a way to cleanse the body. I’ve had a gym membership for 5 months now (cliche New Year’s Resolution, I know) and have never used it so that’s going to change. For exercise this month, I will do some sort of physical activity for at least 30 minutes a day. And to spice things up a bit, I plan on attending one new group fitness class a week. I want to try activities that I have never done before but always wanted to, and I want to try activities that I have absolutely never wanted to try before, period (like spinning class). To sort of go along with this theme of cleansing the body, I am also going to detox for 7 days. But not the liquid detox – I like food waaaay to much for that. I’ve done a lot of research on the best type of detox diets and so far, this is the best (read most appealing) one I’ve come across. Reading it reminds me of my days as a vegetarian and looking back on it now, I actually have never felt better in my life than when I was a vegetarian. Interesting, huh?

Be Well Informed
In my life after school, I’ve completely lost touch with the outside world and I. am. ashamed. Growing up in a household where we watched the news every night and were encouraged to think freely and (gasp) talk about it, I never would have imagined I would have that disconnect. Even in school I stayed on top of the news and today, although I could probably bs my way through a political conversation, I truthfully am out of the loop (and RED FLAG! I work for a social advocacy agency – no bueno). To be a good citizen and steward of my community, I find this unacceptable; and so, I want to change this too. It is my goal for this month to read a newspaper from cover to cover every day. Knowing this is a small and not-so-very lofty task, it is also my goal to share at least one story I find interesting with another person.

Even though it is the last week of July, and I’m not technically supposed to begin this adventure until August 1, I can’t wait any longer, I am just too excited!! So, tomorrow my goals for being well and well informed will commence. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Be Well and Well Informed

  1. lovelylizzie

    Awesome goals for the first month! We should put together an inspiration board for work to keep us from going back to our old way (http://happinessprojecttoolbox.com/inspiration_boards.html). And let me know when you try spinning. I’ve been wanting to try it but I know I’m probably going to look like a fool. Safety in numbers. : P

Leave a Reply

