12 Steps to Get Happi(er)

Books really are inspiring! First, I read Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love book and following her precedent I sold all my belongings and jetted off to Central America in hopes of gaining insight into who I was, where I was coming from, and where I was headed. As it always does, life got in the way and I’m back to where I started. Inspired by another book, The Happiness Project, I’ve decided it’s time to stop regretting and start appreciating my life more. I’ve got a good life so what can I do to enrich it? Over the course of the next year I want to really live. I want to step outside of my comfort zone, try new things, work on my relationships, forge new relationships, have a little FUN for once – I want to experience life like I’ve never done before. This past year, I’ve realized I don’t need to travel the world to do that and so, over the course of this next year, that’s exactly what I’m going to do – I’m going to experience life! Like the book, I’ve decided to dedicate a full year to this endeavor. I’ve come up with 12 resolutions I’ve either (1) always wanted to do and have never done, or (2) wanted to improve in my life. Each month I’ll be tackling a new resolution and chronicaling my experience. I’m either going to love it or hate it, but the beauty of it is at least I’m trying.

My 12 resolutions in no particular order:

1. Be well and well informed
2. Take a photography class
3. Learn to line dance
4. Do-it-yourself home improvement project (remodel my bathroom!)
5. Forge new relationships
6. Strengthen current relationships
7. Find a spiritual mentor
8. Take a budgeting class and plan for my financial future
9. Go volcano boarding
10. Learn to garden
11. Read a nonfiction book
12. Become a court appointed advocate

Stay tuned because August 1 marks the first month of this year-long endeavor to be happi(er).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “12 Steps to Get Happi(er)

  1. Dina Schultz

    Like your goals including line dancing. Daddy and I might want to try that again should you need some partners. And, what is volcano boarding … sounds a bit hot and dangerous. Just like my girl.

    • Volcano boarding is essentially snowboarding down a volcano. You are wrapped in a full body suit to keep the heat from burning your body, but looks sooooo cool!

Leave a Reply

